The 2014 Gum Litter Taskforce (GLT) environmental awareness campaign was launched in Neilstown, Clondalkin today by South Dublin County.

The aim of the campaign is to reduce littered gum by raising awareness that dropping gum on the ground is littering and that it is subject to a €150 fine. The GLT encourages the public to dispose of their used gum responsibly.

In previous years, the campaign has been a huge success with a baseline reduction of gum litter of 33% from 2012 to 2013. The number of people who recognise that dropping chewing gum is litter is now at an all-time high at 93%. In 2013, over half of those surveyed had seen or heard the campaign, and TV advertising alone led to 25% of people disposing of gum responsibly.

Speaking at the launch the Mayor said, “It’s wonderful to see that community involvement is still alive and well in Clondalkin, as well as in towns right across the country. The GLT campaign brings together the general public with industry and local authorities to reduce litter and show pride in their towns by working together.”

At the National Launch earlier in the year, the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, Phil Hogan, T.D expressed his support for the campaign andnoted that, “We know that the only long term solution to deal with littering is to create a culture which makes littering of all forms unacceptable. This campaign does that in a fun and engaging way. Since this government and industry renewed our agreement in 2011, the campaign has been a great success.”

The campaign set out to change consumer behaviour and the results speak for themselves. Educating people about the responsible disposal of gum has a profound impact on attitudes and behaviour.

The Mayor continued “South Dublin County are committed to continuing to educate consumers to ensure that there is a culture which makes littering unacceptable.”

There are 28 local authorities participating in this Gum Litter Campaign in a joint effort to eliminate gum litter from our streets. They are: Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Waterford and Galway City Councils, Kilkenny, Offaly, Cork, Sligo, Fingal, Dun Laoghaire Rathdown, Longford, Galway, Laois, Wexford, Clare, Westmeath, Leitrim, Cavan, Donegal, Kildare, Wicklow, Kerry, Roscommon, Louth, South Dublin, Mayo and Waterford County Council.